Steering Committee / 

Dolores is a Professor at Dalhousie University and Chief of the IWK Women's & Obstetric Anesthesia department. She has conducted research in the areas of post-operative pain management, obstetric anesthesia and health outcomes. Her current research focus is on Patient-Centred Care, Knowledge Translation and Implementation of evidence-based clinical care such as Enhanced Recovery After Surgery. She is the Vice President of the Canadian Anesthesiologists’ Society (CAS) and Chair of the CAS Research Advisory Committee as well as the Association of Canadian University Dept. of Anesthesia Research committee and she sits on the Canadian Anesthesia Research Foundation Board of Trustees.

Committee Member


Gilbert has more than 40 years of expertise. Since 1986, Gilbert has been an anesthesiologist at Notre-Dame hospital & the Hôtel-Dieu clinic (both part of the University of Montréal affiliated-hospital complex CHUM). He also teaches at Sherbrooke University as an assistant professor and as a professor for the University of Montreal. 

Gilbert published more than 80 articles and close to 200 reviews. His interest in fundamental and clinical research led him to study the effects of nitrogen monoxide on cardiovascular and respiratory diseases. Recently, Gilbert has been working on the treatment of seniors and pathological aging. 

Committee Member


Kathy is a patient voice and volunteer with Patients for Patient Safety Canada, as well as with other local, national, and international patient organizations. She is also an academic scholar with the School of Public Health, University of Alberta, and Senior Consultant in Clinical Quality Metrics with Alberta Health Services, with a focus on patient and family experience measurement related to quality healthcare improvement.

Committee Member


As a patient, Thierry has, unfortunately, a lot of experience. He is a cancer survivor, twice.
Thierry founded Nonante in 2004, the first communications entity to develop a unique expertise in the field of sustainability communications. In addition to his expertise in sustainability communications, Thierry boasts 23 years of experience in large-scale organizations and advertising agencies in Europe and North America and has extensive knowledge in online media and new technologies. The recipient of numerous international advertising awards, Thierry has created countless campaigns for various charities and NGOs over the years.

Committee Member


Mary Anne is a semi-retired nurse. She has worked for 37 years in neonatal intensive care. She became a patient member of the steering committee due to her own experience as a patient. As the committee is exploring patient groups, she realizes that she has a keen interest In learning more about infants, children and their families as they experience anesthesia. Mary Anne retired from full-time nursing so that she could spend more time with her family, her dog Duke, and more time in her garden.

Committee Member


Andreas is a palliative care physician and health services researcher in Toronto who is keen on patient involvement in research. He is the editor of Healthy Debate (, a website about health care, and has started a photo journalism website called Faces of Health Care. Andreas has been involved in more than ten JLA priority-setting partnerships in Canada.

Committee Member


Colleen is a cancer survivor and former caregiver to her parents in the final years of their lives. She underwent numerous surgical procedures requiring various types of anesthesia. Colleen has been a member of the BC-based Patient Voices Network since 2009 and, in that capacity, has worked on numerous health care quality improvement initiatives. Colleen is also involved in health research and currently works as the Patient Engagement Lead for the BC Support for Patient-Oriented Research and Trials (SUPPORT) Unit.

Committee Member


Dan is an Anesthesiologist and Scientist at The Ottawa Hospital. He is also an Assistant Professor of Anesthesiology and Pain Medicine, as well as Epidemiology, Public Health and Preventative Medicine at the University of Ottawa, and is an Adjunct Scientist at the Institute for Clinical Evaluative Sciences. Dan’s research program focuses on perioperative health services, with a particular focus on older surgical patients.

Committee Member


Jason is an attending anesthesiologist at The Ottawa Hospital and an Assistant Professor at the University of Ottawa. He holds a fellowship in Regional Anesthesia and Pain Medicine. He has worked for Médecins Sans Frontières, is a trustee of the Canadian Anesthesiologists Society International Education Foundation, and member of the Pain Committee with the World Federation of Societies of Anaesthesiologists.

Committee Member


In 2008, Donna experienced Anesthesia Awareness. Two weeks after the event, she was diagnosed with Post-Traumatic Stress Disorder. The Awareness has had a profound impact on her life. Since this happened, Donna and her husband, Brian, have become advocates for patient safety within healthcare settings. Donna has shared her story with many different audiences, including Anesthesiologists, Surgeons, Nurses, Medical Students, Anesthesiology Residents, and Nursing Students.


In her spare time, Donna and Brian enjoy spending time with their children and grandchildren, as well as exploring Canada and the US on their motorcycle.

Committee Member


Claire is an anesthesia assistant, who currently works in the Women's and Obstetric Anesthesia Department at the IWK Health Centre in Halifax. She trained as a respiratory therapist, before specializing in anesthesia in 2015.
Claire is passionate about anesthesia, and anesthesia research. She has been involved in research in anesthesia for the past 10 years and is currently studying health informatics. 

Claire is also a proud new mom to her baby daughter. She is very excited to be involved in the Priority Setting Partnership for Anesthesia.

Committee Member


‚ÄčKatherine is Senior Adviser to the JLA and has been a key contributor to the development of its methods and profile since 2008. Katherine co-wrote and edited the original JLA Guidebook. She has chaired over 20 PSPs and facilitated at more than 30 priority setting workshops. She is passionate about the JLA method and its potential to bring disparate and often seldom-heard groups together to influence the research agenda.

Committee Support Personnel


Jillian is the project manager for this Priority Setting Partnership. She works to facilitate patient engagement in research in the Dalhousie University Department of Anesthesia, Pain Management & Perioperative Medicine. Jillian has a strong research background in addition to her experience with patient engagement in research. She also recently completed Foundations training with the International Association for Public Participation.

Committee Support Personnel


  • White Facebook Icon

© 2018 Proudly created by INLET COMMUNICATIONS for Canadian Anesthesia Research Priority Setting Partnership

  • Black Facebook Icon
  • Black Twitter Icon